We’re pulling back the curtain…Have you ever wondered what happens behind the scenes here at the Read-Aloud Revival?

In this episode, you’ll hear:

  • How we decide who to have on the podcast and which master classes to create
  • What needs to happen in order to book an author for the membership Author Access events
  • And how many hours it takes to get a podcast all the way through production

(No really- do you have a guess?)

In this episode of the podcast, the RAR Community Director Kortney Garrison and I answer all of those questions and more. It’s a fun one, so start your most tedious housework job, because we’ll keep you company and make the job just fly by. :)

 Click the play button below:

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

Episode 40
The Prairie Thief

The Prairie Thief

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

A fantastical twist to a tale of life on the prairie made this an instant family favorite at our house. Louisa Brody’s life on the Colorado prairie takes an unexpected turn when her father is locked away in jail and she is sent to live with the awful Smirch family. Can Louisa and her friends save her father from a guilty verdict?

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Poppy

Poppy

A young mouse embarks on an adventurous tale and finds bravery where she didn't know it existed. Also wonderful as an audio book. (This is second in a series, but I recommend starting here anyway.) Listen to the author, Avi, in his Author Access replay at RAR Premium.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Green Ember

The Green Ember

FROM SARAH:

A Read-Aloud Revival community favorite. Rabbits with Swords! This story will inspire heroic virtue in your children (and who knows... maybe you too!). This is first in a truly wonderful fantasy series. Your kids can meet author S.D. Smith at his Author Access video replay in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Heather and Picket are extraordinary rabbits with ordinary lives until calamitous events overtake them, spilling them into a cauldron of misadventures. They discover that their own story is bound up in the tumult threatening to overwhelm the wider world.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The New Way Things Work

The New Way Things Work

FROM SARAH

The updated and expanded version of the awesome original, this book can absorb a child for hours as they learn - you guessed it - how stuff works, from jackhammers to digital cameras.

FROM THE PUBLISHER

From levers to lasers, from cameras to computers, this 384-page volume is a remarkable overview of the machines and inventions that shape our lives, amusingly presented with a large dose of Macaulay's wit and personality.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Sunny Side Up

Sunny Side Up

$12.99

**Description from Amazon: Sunny Lewin has been packed off to Florida to live with her grandfather for the summer.  At first she thought Florida might be fun -- it is  the home of Disney World, after all.  But the place where Gramps lives is no amusement park.  It’s full of . . . old people.  Really old people.   Luck...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Turtle in Paradise

Turtle in Paradise

**Description from Amazon: In Jennifer L. Holm's New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor winning middle grade historical fiction novel, life isn't like the movies. But then again, 11-year-old Turtle is no Shirley Temple. She's smart and tough and has seen enough of the world not to expect a Hollywood ending. After all, it's...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Castle

Castle

FROM THE PUBLISHER

The word itself conjures up mystery, romance, intrigue, and grandeur. What could be more perfect for an author/illustrator who has continually stripped away the mystique of architectural structures that have long fascinated modern man? With typical zest and wry sense of humor punctuating his drawing...

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Growly Books: Begin (Volume 1)

The Growly Books: Begin (Volume 1)

$11.99

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

For centuries the bears of Haven have lived quiet lives, high in the mountains at the edge of the great Precipice. That all changes for a young cub named Growly when he receives a mysterious message. With just his backpack and glider, Growly sets out on a desperate journey to find his grandfather's long lost friend . . . and to find a way back home.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Our Only May Amelia (Harper Trophy Books (Paperback))

Our Only May Amelia (Harper Trophy Books (Paperback))

$6.99

**Description from Amazon: It isn′t easy being a pioneer in the state of Washington in 1899, but it′s particularly hard when you are the only girl ever born in the new settlement. With seven older brothers and a love of adventure, May Amelia Jackson just can′t seem to abide her family′s insistence that she behave like...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

**Description from Amazon: Avi's treasured Newbery Honor Book now in expanded After Words edition!Thirteen-year-old Charlotte Doyle is excited to return home from her school in England to her family in Rhode Island in the summer of 1832.But when the two families she was supposed to travel with mysteriously cancel their trips,...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Pyramid

Pyramid

Through concise text and richly detailed black and white illustrations we come to know the philosophy of life and death in ancient Egypt.

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
How to Teach Your Children Shakespeare

How to Teach Your Children Shakespeare

$15.00

Winner of the Falstaff Award for Best Shakespeare Book, How To Teach Your Children Shakespeare is a foolproof, enormously fun method of teaching your children the classic works of William Shakespeare by Tony-Award winning playwright, Ken Ludwig. To know some Shakespeare provides a head start in ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Original Adventures of Hank the Cowdog

The Original Adventures of Hank the Cowdog

$1.95
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 40, Book 65
Tag: Episode 40

NARRATED BY: John R. Erickson, BEST FOR AGES: 5+

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!

Babymouse #1: Queen of the World!

With multiple Children's Choice Awards and over 1.8 million books sold, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Bad Kitty, and Dork Diaries!Meet Babymouse—Her dreams are big! Her imagination is wild! Her whiskers are ALWAYS a mess! In ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding: Completely Revised and Updated 8th Edition

The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding: Completely Revised and Updated 8th Edition

$22.00

**Description from Amazon: It’s no secret that breastfeeding is the normal, healthy way to nourish and nurture your baby. Dedicated to supporting nursing and expectant mothers, the internationally respected La Leche League has set the standard for educating and empowering mothers in this natural art for generations. Now the...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet: Tasting the Goodness of God in All Things

Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet: Tasting the Goodness of God in All Things

$15.99

**Description from Amazon: Sara Hagerty masterfully draws from her own story of spiritual and physical barrenness to birth in readers a new longing for God. With exquisite storytelling and reflection, Hagerty guides readers to a tender place that God is holding just for them—a place where he shapes the bitterness of lost ex...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Sketchnote Workbook: Advanced techniques for taking visual notes you can use anywhere

The Sketchnote Workbook: Advanced techniques for taking visual notes you can use anywhere

$39.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 40
Tag: Episode 40

**Description from Amazon: The Sketchnote Workbook, the follow-up to Mike Rohde’s popular The Sketchnote Handbook, shows you how to take the basic sketchnoting skills you learned in the Handbook and use them in new and fun ways. You think you have fun taking sketchnotes in meetings? Try using them to record your travels....

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The 5 Love Languages of Children: The Secret to Loving Children Effectively

The 5 Love Languages of Children: The Secret to Loving Children Effectively

$15.99

**Description from Amazon: More than 1 million sold! You know you love your child. But how can you make sure your child knows it?The #1 New York Times bestselling The 5 Love Languages® has helped millions of couples learn the secret to building a love that lasts. Now discover how to speak your child’s love language in a wa...

More info →
Buy from Amazon

Books from today’s episode:

(All links are Amazon affiliate links.)

Other links from today’s show:

That picture frame was a gift to me from Kortney. It says, "Be who God meant you to be and you will set the world on fire." -St. Catherine of Siena
That picture frame was a gift to me from Kortney.
It says, “Be who God meant you to be and you will set the world on fire.” -St. Catherine of Siena

SaveSave