July Picture Books

Mark ShashaJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

Night of the Moonjellies

Young Mark spends a busy, noisy day helping out at Gram's seaside hot dog stand. After the last customer is served and the grill is scrubbed to a silvery shine, Mark sails off with Gram for a promised surprise, and finds a nighttime sea full of shimmering moonjellies. The scientific name for the cre...

Lane SmithJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

A Perfect Day

Today is a perfect day for Cat, Dog, Chickadee, and Squirrel.Cat is lounging among the daffodils. Dog is sitting in the wading pool, deep in the cool water. Chickadee is eating fresh seed from the birdfeeder. Squirrel is munching on his very own corncob. Today is a perfect day in Bert's backyard. Un...

Carolyn CrimiJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

There Might Be Lobsters

Come on, Sukie, you can do it! A little dog’s paralyzing anxiety gives way to bravery when someone smaller is in need in this humorous, tenderly sympathetic story.Lots of things at the beach scare Sukie. Lots. Because she is just a small dog, and the stairs are big and sandy, and the waves are big...

Wong Herbert YeeJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

Summer Days and Nights

On a hot summer day, a little girl finds ways to entertain herself and stay cool. She catches a butterfly, sips lemonade, jumps in a pool, and goes on a picnic. At night, she sees an owl in a tree and a frog in a pond, and hears leaves rustling. Before long, she's fast asleep, dreaming about more su...

Anne HunterJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

Possum and the Summer Storm

Possum returns in a lushly illustrated story about new homes and old friends--perfect for fans of Possum's Harvest Moon, Kevin Henkes and Beth Krommes. Possum looked out one summer afternoon. “Time to come in!” he called to his baby possums. “It looks like we’re in for some weather!”  ...

Kazuo IwamuraJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

Bedtime in the Forest

For every child who has ever begged to stay up later Mick, Mack, and Molly, the three popular squirrel children, are back in action—but not when they should be. This time, they are up and out in the middle of the night. After all, the owl children are wide-awake and playing. So why can’t squirr...

Chris Van DusenJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

Hattie and Hudson

**Description from Amazon: A little girl and her colossal friend teach a monster-size lesson about prejudging others in a charming new offering from Chris Van Dusen.Hattie McFadden is a born explorer. Every morning she grabs her life jacket and paddles out in her canoe to discover something new on the lake, singing a little s...

Chris Van DusenJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

Down to the Sea with Mr. Magee

**Description from Amazon: With enough lunch for three, Mr. Magee and his dog Dee head out to the sea. But what begins as a fun day in the sun turns a bit bumpy when one playful whale decides to say hello. Soon the crew that once was floating finds themselves flying! How will they get down? Who will come to their rescue? And ...

Chris Van DusenJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

A Camping Spree with Mr. Magee

**Description from Amazon: Mr. Magee and his trusty dog, Dee, are enjoying a peaceful camping trip when all of a sudden they find themselves plunging down a mountain and teetering on the edge of a huge waterfall! How will they find their way out of this slippery situation? Chris Van Dusen, the creator of Down to the Sea with ...

Leo LionniJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

Swimmy

**Description from Amazon: Deep in the sea there lives a happy school of little fish. Their watery world is full of wonders, but there is also danger, and the little fish are afraid to come out of hiding . . . until Swimmy comes along. Swimmy shows his friends how—with ingenuity and team work—they can overcome any danger....

Tomie dePaolaJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

Strega Nona Takes a Vacation

**Description from Amazon: It has been a long time since Strega Nona had a vacation. At night she dreams she's at her Grandma Concetta's little house by the seashore. During the day she hears Grandma Concetta's voice saying, "Vieni, Nonalina, come." Soon even Big Anthony notices that Strega Nona is distracted--she gives the M...

Mary CasanovaJuly Picture BooksJuly Picture Books

One-Dog Canoe

**Description from Amazon: I set off one morning in my little red canoe.My dog wagged his tail."Can I come, too?""You bet," I said."A trip for two―just me and you."When a girl and her dog set out on a canoe trip together, they're expecting a quiet afternoon for two. Then a beaver decides to join them, even when the girl pro...