I know this about you: you want to make meaningful and lasting connections with your kids.

As a busy homeschooling mom of six, I completely understand that when the house is a mess and the laundry pile is overflowing and life feels just plain crazy, spending a few minutes reading aloud with my kids- even the kids who can read to themselves- is the most important thing I do all day.

It’s an opportunity to be fully present- and that is a gift beyond measure these days.

That’s why we started offering Author Access events at the Read-Aloud Revival… because those moments we spend with our kids during read-aloud time have a profound affect on our relationship.

Introducing our kids to the creators of those stories? Takes everything up a level.

On today’s brand new episode of the Read-Aloud Revival podcast…

I take you behind the doors of membership and let you listen in on some of our member-only Author Access events.

These are live video streams where kids got to meet authors and ask their questions in real time.

Oh you’re just going to DIE when you hear Andrea Davis Pinkney. (And if you have a child who struggles with schoolwork or who may be dyslexic, I urge you to listen to hear what she has to say about that. 😍).

 Click the play button below:

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

Read-Aloud Revival Membership is a place where intentional parents go to get the tools they need to make meaningful and lasting connections with their kids through books.

In membership we help make those kinds of connections in 3 simple steps:

1) First, get equipped by taking a master class or a workshop.

Your enthusiasm is contagious! We have nearly a dozen master classes and whole-family workshops that you can watch right now, at any time that’s convenient for you. See a list of the master classes and workshops currently available →

2) Second, inspire your kids.

Author Access events do this in spades (if you haven’t yet, listen to today’s podcast. Just click the play button above).

As a member, you get immediate access to all 20 of our previous Author Events as video replays. You also get a front row seat at each future monthly Author Access Event. And we’ve got quite the lineup. (Spoiler alert: Tomie dePaola is coming in a couple of weeks.) See the whole list of Author Access events here →

3) Third, tap into a community.

You want to surround yourself with like-minded people who are committed to the same important work you are- of making meaningful and lasting connections with their kids through books.

Just last month one of our members told us that the member forum is “worth it’s weight in gold.”

If you are seeking to create a book-loving culture in your home, one where relationships are rich and meaningful and inspired, you are not alone! We’re all here rooting you on, doing the same thing in our own homes. You’ve found your people.

There’s more to membership… click here to get all the details →

Spring registration closes on April 6th and then won’t re-open until October, so you don’t want to miss it.

—> Click here to become a member

Books from this episode:

Episode 61
The Green Ember

The Green Ember

FROM SARAH:

A Read-Aloud Revival community favorite. Rabbits with Swords! This story will inspire heroic virtue in your children (and who knows... maybe you too!). This is first in a truly wonderful fantasy series. Your kids can meet author S.D. Smith at his Author Access video replay in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Heather and Picket are extraordinary rabbits with ordinary lives until calamitous events overtake them, spilling them into a cauldron of misadventures. They discover that their own story is bound up in the tumult threatening to overwhelm the wider world.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

FROM SARAH:

For fans of Lord of the RingsThe Princess Bride, and The Chronicles of Narnia. This fantastical journey is one our family's favorites. Excellent as an audio book, as well (and it's kind of long, so if that intimidates you, opt for audio!) Don't miss my interview with Andrew Peterson for Author Access in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Janner Igiby, his brother, Tink, and their disabled sister, Leeli, are gifted children as all children are, loved well by a noble mother and ex-pirate grandfather. But they will need all their gifts and all that they love to survive the evil pursuit of the venomous Fangs of Dang, who have crossed the dark sea to rule the land with malice.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

FROM SARAH:

Minli sets off on an adventurous journey to find the Old Man on the Moon and change her family's fortune. Elements of fantasy and folklore intertwine as Minli discovers answers to her most pressing questions. Full-color illustrations by the author make this one a special treat! Your kids can meet Grace Lin in her Author Access video replay in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

In the valley of Fruitless mountain, a young girl named Minli lives in a ramshackle hut with her parents. In the evenings, her father regales her with old folktales of the Jade Dragon and the Old Man on the Moon, who knows the answers to all of life's questions. Inspired by these stories, Minli sets off on an extraordinary journey to find the Old Man on the Moon to ask him how she can change her family's fortune.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Frindle

Frindle

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

A fantastic place to start with the many funny, quick reads by Andrew Clements. Nick isn't exactly a troublemaker; he just likes to keep things interesting! What starts out as a simple game turns into a city-wide uproar. What starts out as a lighthearted read turns out to be a powerfully moving story. Delightful.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Seven Silly Eaters

The Seven Silly Eaters

$7.99

FROM SARAH

As each new child arrives in the family, the family food requests get more and more complicated, and Mrs. Peters finds herself accommodating more and more tricky appetites. But when her birthday comes, so does a surprise.

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Peter wants only milk, Lucy won’t settle for anything but homemade lemonade, and Jack is stuck on applesauce. Each new addition to the household brings a new demand for a special meal. What’s a mother to do?

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Snowy Day

The Snowy Day

A 1963 Caldecott Medal winner, The Snowy Day is simple and beautiful. Explore the city as it is blanketed in snow. Perfect for winter, of course.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Muncha! Muncha! Muncha!

Muncha! Muncha! Muncha!

Mr. McGreeley had decided to plant a garden. But when bunnies start making nightly visits and eating up his harvest, he plots to keep those twitch-whiskers from stealing any more of his vegetables. Laugh-out-loud funny.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Castle

Castle

FROM THE PUBLISHER

The word itself conjures up mystery, romance, intrigue, and grandeur. What could be more perfect for an author/illustrator who has continually stripped away the mystique of architectural structures that have long fascinated modern man? With typical zest and wry sense of humor punctuating his drawing...

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Cathedral: The Story of Its Construction

Cathedral: The Story of Its Construction

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Readers worldwide recognize Caldecott Medal winner David Macaulay's imaginary Cathedral of Chutreaux. This critically acclaimed book has been translated into a dozen languages and remains a classic of children's literature and a touchstone for budding architects. Cathedral's numerous awards include ...

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Pyramid

Pyramid

Through concise text and richly detailed black and white illustrations we come to know the philosophy of life and death in ancient Egypt.

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
A Poem for Peter

A Poem for Peter

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

This lyrical and moving picture book biography tells the story of  Ezra Jack Keats, the man who gave us The Snowy Day. Longer form and best for older kids and teens, this is a picture book you can't grow too old for!

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Boxes for Katje

Boxes for Katje

$17.99

*Description from Amazon: Simple seeds of friendship grow into something extraordinaryAfter World War II there is little left in Katje's town of Olst in Holland. Her family, like most Dutch families, must patch their old worn clothing and go without everyday things like soap and milk. Then one spring morning when the tulips ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Oh, No!

Oh, No!

"This picture book reads like an instant classic.... Oh, yes!" raved Kirkus Reviews in a starred review.Young children will delight in repeating the refrain "OH, NO!" as one animal after another falls into a deep, deep hole in this lively read-aloud. This simple and irresistible picture book by huge...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Way Things Work Now

The Way Things Work Now

$35.00

**Description from Amazon: Explainer-in-Chief David Macaulay updates the worldwide bestseller The New Way Things Work to capture the latest developments in the technology that most impacts our lives. Famously packed with information on the inner workings of everything from windmills to Wi-Fi, this extraordinary and humorous ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling

FROM SARAH:

The first in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series will surprise and delight you at every turn. You see, the children of Ashton Place aren't ordinary children. They were found in the forest, and it appears they have been raised by wolves... (The audio version of the book is especially delightful.)

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, Penelope embraces the challenge of her new position. Though she is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, first she must eliminate their canine tendencies.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Ship

Ship

$19.95

**Description from Amazon: Join a group of underwater archaeologists as they search for a long-lost caravel in the reefs of the Caribbean Sea. A combination of drawings, maps, and diagrams details the ship's recovery, and as clues to the past are pieced together, a story emerges.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
When the Sea Turned to Silver

When the Sea Turned to Silver

$18.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 61
Tag: Episode 61

**Description from Amazon: A New York Times Bestseller A National Book Award FinalistAn IndieBound BestsellerThis breathtaking, full-color illustrated fantasy is inspired by Chinese folklore, and is a companion to the Newbery Honor winner Where the Mountain Meets the Moon Pinkie's gentle, loving grandmother always has the...

More info →
Buy from Amazon

Get the printable version

Books boys love

Powered by ConvertKit