What should we look for when we’re choosing books for our children?It’s as easy at 7 points, as you’ll hear in this episode with Sarita Holzmann of Sonlight Curriculum.

Sarita is a veteran homeschool mom and book lover.

In this episode, you’ll hear:

  • how her son went from struggling reader to Valedictorian
  • all about her 7-point all-star test for books
  • book recommendations that your kids will love and remember long after they leave home

 Click the play button below:

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

Books from this episode:

(All links are Amazon affiliate links.)

Episode 79
Charlotte’s Web

Charlotte’s Web

FROM SARAH

By the wonderful E.B. White, a touching tale of friendship, character and love, with charming illustrations by Garth Williams. Your kids will hang on every word—there's a reason this book is a classic! (psst... get out the Kleenex)

FROM THE PUBLISHER

E. B. White's Newbery Honor Book is a tender novel of friendship, love, life, and death that will continue to be enjoyed by generations to come. It contains illustrations by Garth Williams, the acclaimed illustrator of E. B. White's Stuart Little and Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House series, among many other books.

 

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Trumpet of the Swan

The Trumpet of the Swan

FROM SARAH:

You may know E.B. White best from Charlotte's Web or Stuart Little, but his delightful storytelling shines in this book, which beautifully describes both the natural world, and the nature of friendship. Get a free Family Book Club Guide to go with it right here.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Like the rest of his family, Louis is a trumpeter swan. But unlike his four brothers and sisters, Louis can't trumpet joyfully. In fact, he can't even make a sound. And since he can't trumpet his love, the beautiful swan Serena pays absolutely no attention to him.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers

Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers

FROM SARAH:

This one comes up again and again in podcast episodes! The first in Ralph Moody’s autobiographical series, this is a wonderful father-son story. Note: Does contain a few mature words that begin with H and D.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Ralph Moody was eight years old in 1906 when his family moved from New Hampshire to a Colorado ranch. Through his eyes we experience the pleasures and perils of ranching there early in the twentieth century. Auctions and roundups, family picnics, irrigation wars, tornadoes and wind storms give authentic color to Little Britches. So do adventures, wonderfully told, that equip Ralph to take his father's place when it becomes necessary.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
By the Great Horn Spoon!

By the Great Horn Spoon!

$7.99

Set during the Gold Rush, Jack is searching for wealth to help his aunt. Along with his butler Praiseworthy, he sets off on the adventure of a lifetime. Will Jack find gold? (This one is laugh-out-loud funny!)

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Caddie Woodlawn

Caddie Woodlawn

Based on stories of the author’s grandmother, Caddie loves hunting and pranks, but refuses to be a “lady.” Set in Wisconsin in the late 1800s, Little House fans will love Caddie!

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Johnny Tremain

Johnny Tremain

FROM SARAH

A dip into Boston just before the American Revolutionary War, as told from the view of a 14-year-old silversmith. Don't let the length of this one deter you—it's engaging!

FROM THE PUBLISHER

After injuring his hand, a silversmith's apprentice in Boston becomes a messenger for the Sons of Liberty in the days before the American Revolution.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

Not as scary as the movie, this is a fabulous read-aloud for a wide range of ages. This audio book version is also delightful.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Nancy Drew Mystery Stories 1-64 (Nancy Drew)

Nancy Drew Mystery Stories 1-64 (Nancy Drew)

**Description from Amazon: Another book in the Nancy Drew series featuring a teen-age girl as a mystery solver.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Where the Red Fern Grows

Where the Red Fern Grows

**Description from Amazon: For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man’s best friend.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
When You Reach Me

When You Reach Me

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Shortly after a fall-out with her best friend, sixth grader Miranda starts receiving mysterious notes. It would be easy to ignore the strange messages, except that whoever is leaving them has an uncanny ability to predict the future. If that is the case, then Miranda has a big problem—because the notes tell her that someone is going to die...

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
By C. S. Lewis: The Chronicles of Narnia Box Set: Full-Color Collector’s Edition

By C. S. Lewis: The Chronicles of Narnia Box Set: Full-Color Collector’s Edition

**Description from Amazon: Experience all of The Chronicles of Narnia with full color pictures throughout in this seven-book heavy-weight paperback box set. Readers of all ages-whether they are experiencing Narnia for the first time or returning once again to the magical world-will love seeing the creatures and landscapes of ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Mandy (Julie Andrews Collection)

Mandy (Julie Andrews Collection)

$6.99

**Description from Amazon: Mandy, the first children’s novel ever written by the beloved star of Mary Poppins and The Sound of Music, Julie Andrews, is a modern classic.Mandy, a ten-year-old orphan, dreams of a place to call her own. Escaping over the orphanage wall to explore the outside world, Mandy discovers a tiny deser...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Carry On, Mr. Bowditch

Carry On, Mr. Bowditch

$7.99

**Description from Amazon: Readers today are still fascinated by “Nat,? an eighteenth-century nautical wonder and mathematical wizard. Nathaniel Bowditch grew up in a sailor?s world—Salem in the early days, when tall-masted ships from foreign ports crowded the wharves. But Nat didn?t promise to have the makings of a sailo...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Echo

Echo

This one is best on audio, and oh, what an exquisite audio book it is! The story is told in three parts—Friedrich, a Germany boy on the wrong side of the Nazi Party during World War II; Mike and Frankie, who dream of living with a real family of their own; Ivy, an immigrant in California during the 1940s. The stories are woven together in a truly magnificent masterpiece. I've read it twice, and both times were equally moving. Highly recommended.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

$16.00
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 79
Tag: Episode 79

**Description from Amazon: In the opening pages of Jamie Ford’s stunning debut novel, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, Henry Lee comes upon a crowd gathered outside the Panama Hotel, once the gateway to Seattle’s Japantown. It has been boarded up for decades, but now the new owner has made an incredible discovery:...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Horton Hatches the Egg

Horton Hatches the Egg

$16.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 79
Tag: Episode 79

**Description from Amazon: Generations of children have fallen in love with Horton the elephant!  “I meant what I said, and I said what I meant. . . . An elephant’s faithful, one hundred per cent!” Horton is kind and trustworthy, but unfortunately, the lazy bird Mayzie takes advantage of his good nature when she leaves...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Seven Daughters and Seven Sons

Seven Daughters and Seven Sons

$8.99

**Description from Amazon: In an ancient Arab nation, one woman dares to be different.Buran cannot -- Buran will not-sit quietly at home and wait to be married to the man her father chooses. Determined to use her skills and earn a fortune, she instead disguises herself as a boy and travels by camel caravan to a distant city. ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon

Get the printable version

Books boys love

Powered by ConvertKit