Do your kids like creepy stories?

Ndwilson

Some of mine do, and I’ve been curious about the role of both magic and fear in my children’s reading life. There’s no one better to talk to about this than the much loved and celebrated Christian author of the (fantastically creepy) 100 Cupboards series, N.D. Wilson.

It’s a great day to share that conversation, because his brand new book, Outlaws of Time, releases today!

In this episode, you’ll hear:

  • thinking through fear
  • the pleasures of re-reading
  • and all about his newest book, of course!

Wanna hear our conversation? Scroll down and hit play!

 Click the play button below:

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

Books from this episode:

(All links are Amazon affiliate links.)

Episode 44
Hello Ninja

Hello Ninja

FROM SARAH

A silly, lighthearted board book this is sure to get your little one giggling.

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Are you longing for adventure? Mischief? What about sandwiches?

Tag along with one sneaky ninja who is happy to share his busy day (but not his lunch) with curious kids everywhere in this rhyming picture book perfect for fans of The Three Ninja Pigs and 10 Little Ninjas.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Chronicles of Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Good, evil; battles, betrayals; this classic series begins with either The Magician’s Nephew, or The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (depending on who you ask!). There are 7 books in all -- one filled with more adventure and fantasy than the next.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
100 Cupboards (100 Cupboards, Bk 1)

100 Cupboards (100 Cupboards, Bk 1)

$7.99

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

When Henry’s parents are kidnapped, he’s sent to stay with relatives in Kansas. One morning Henry awakes to find his new room full of cupboards -- but not just cupboards -- portals.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Dragon’s Tooth (Ashtown Burials #1)

The Dragon’s Tooth (Ashtown Burials #1)

$7.99

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

For two years, Cyrus and Antigone Smith have run a sagging roadside motel with their older brother, Daniel. Nothing ever seems to happen. Then a strange old man with bone tattoos arrives, demanding a specific room.Less than 24 hours later, the old man is dead. The motel has burned, and Daniel is missing...

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Father Brown Reader: Stories from Chesterton

The Father Brown Reader: Stories from Chesterton

Four short mysteries starring the sweet Father Brown. Kids will love the subtle action, and trying to figure out whodunnit!

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Outlaws of Time: The Legend of Sam Miracle

Outlaws of Time: The Legend of Sam Miracle

$16.99

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Sam Miracle’s life is made up of dreams, dreams where he’s a courageous, legendary hero instead of a foster kid with two bad arms that can barely move. Sometimes these dreams feel so real, they seem like forgotten memories. And sometimes they make him believe that his arms might come alive again.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl: Wide-Eyed Wonder in God’s Spoken World

Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl: Wide-Eyed Wonder in God’s Spoken World

$15.99

**Description from Amazon: What is this World? What kind of place is it?“The round kind. The spinning kind. The moist kind. The inhabited kind. The kind with flamingos (real and artificial). The kind where water in the sky turns into beautifully symmetrical crystal flakes sculpted by artists unable to stop themselves (in bo...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Leepike Ridge

Leepike Ridge

$6.99

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Thomas Hammond has always lived next to Leepike Ridge, but he never imagined he might end up lost beneath it! The night Tom's schoolteacher comes to dinner and asks Tom's mother to marry him, Tom slips out of the house and escapes down a nearby stream on a floating slab of packing foam. The night and stars lull Tom to sleep, and when he wakes, he has ridden his foam raft all the way to the ridge, where the stream dives underground.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Death by Living: Life Is Meant to Be Spent

Death by Living: Life Is Meant to Be Spent

$19.99

**Description from Amazon: A poetic portrait of faith, futility, and the joy of this mortal life. In this astoundingly unique book, bestselling author N.D. Wilson reminds each of us that to truly live we must recognize that we are dying. Every second we create more of our past―more decisions, more breathing, more love and m...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Boys of Blur

Boys of Blur

$7.99

**Description from Amazon: Fans of Jerry Spinelli's Maniac Magee and Louis Sachar's Holes will enjoy this story about a boy and the ancient secrets that hide deep in the heart of the Florida everglades near a place called Muck City.When Charlie moves to the small town of Taper, Florida, he discovers a different world. Pinned ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Return of the King: Being the Third Part of the Lord of the Rings

The Return of the King: Being the Third Part of the Lord of the Rings

$13.95
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 44, Book 3
Tag: Episode 44

**Description from Amazon: The third volume in J.R.R. Tolkien's epic adventure THE LORD OF THE RINGS One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them As the Shadow of Mordor grows across the land, the Companions of the Ring have become involved in separate adventure...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire

Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire

$12.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 44, Book 4
Tag: Episode 44

**Description from Amazon: The paperback edition of the legendary, record-breaking, best-selling fourth Harry Potter novel.Harry Potter is midway through his training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup. He wants to find out about ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Two Towers: Being the Second Part of The Lord of the Rings

The Two Towers: Being the Second Part of The Lord of the Rings

$13.95
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 44, Book 2
Tag: Episode 44

** Description from Amazon: The second volume in J.R.R. Tolkien's epic adventure THE LORD OF THE RINGS One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them Frodo and his Companions of the Ring have been beset by danger during their quest to prevent the Ruling Ring from fal...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
That Hideous Strength (Space Trilogy, Book 3)

That Hideous Strength (Space Trilogy, Book 3)

$17.00
Series: Episodes, Episode 44, Book 3
Tag: Episode 44

**Description from Amazon: The final book in C. S. Lewis's acclaimed Space Trilogy, which includes Out of the Silent Planet and Perelandra, That Hideous Strength concludes the adventures of the matchless Dr. Ransom. The dark forces that were repulsed in Out of the Silent Planet and Perelandra are massed for an assault on the ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
King Solomon’s Mines: Complete and Unabridged (Puffin Classics)

King Solomon’s Mines: Complete and Unabridged (Puffin Classics)

$4.99

** Description from Amazon: Touted by its 1885 publisher as “the most amazing story ever written,” King Solomon’s Mines was one of the bestselling novels of the nineteenth century. H. Rider Haggard’s thrilling saga of elephant hunter Allan Quatermain and his search for fabled treasure is more than just an adventure sto...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Whose Body?

Whose Body?

$5.95
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 44, Book 1
Tag: Episode 44

Description from Amazon: There's a corpse in the bathtub, wearing nothing but a pair of pince-nez spectacles. Enter Lord Peter Wimsey, the original gentleman sleuth. Urged to investigate by his mother, the Dowager Duchess of Denver, Lord Peter quickly ascertains that the sudden disappearance of a well-known financier is i...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Fit to Burst : Abundance, Mayhem, and the Joys of Motherhood

Fit to Burst : Abundance, Mayhem, and the Joys of Motherhood

$14.00

**Description from Amazon: Fit to Burst is a book of parenting "field notes" written by a mom in the thick of it all. It is chock-full of humorous examples and fresh advice covering issues familiar to moms, such as guilt cycles, temptations to be ungrateful or bitter, enjoying your kids, and learning how to honor Jesus by giv...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Loving the Little Years: Motherhood in the Trenches

Loving the Little Years: Motherhood in the Trenches

$12.00

**Description from Amazon: Loving the Little Years is a bestselling book of thoughts for mothering young children. It's written by a mom, for you moms -- for when you are motivated, for when you are discouraged, for the times when discipline seems fruitless, and for when you are just plain old tired. When you're a mom, the op...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
 

Links from today’s show:

 

SaveSave

135,000+ families trust the RAR Booklist

get yours free

Powered by ConvertKit