We say it often here at the Read-Aloud Revival: sharing books with our kids is all about connection. This is true for all ages, but today we’re especially going to talk about the importance of reading aloud to babies.

Our guest today goes so far as to say that our effectiveness as parents is in direct proportion to the strength of the bond that we have with our child. This is good stuff!

In this new episode of the Read-Aloud Revival podcast, Pam Leo shares her wisdom about connecting with babies and toddlers through books.

In this episode, you’ll hear:

  • How connection = effectiveness in parenting
  • Whether reading to babies really matters (spoiler alert: It does… a lot!)
  • Favorite books for babies and toddlers

…Click that play button below to hear the podcast:

Listener Guide

Use the time stamps below to skip to any part of the podcast:

  • 2:30 Meet Pam Leo
  • 4:04 Marrying two loves
  • 6:03 Our effectiveness as parents
  • 7:23 Reading with babies
  • 10:16 ‘Reading Voice’
  • 11:22 Favorite books for babes
  • 14:42 Sign language books and wordless books
  • 21:05 Brain-building
  • 23:58 Building a ‘Bridge’
  • 25:44 The Book Fairy Pantry Project
  • 32:52 Let the Kids Speak

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

Links from this episode:

Quotes to remember:

“Our effectiveness as parents is in direct proportion to the strength of the bond that we have with our child.” – Pam Leo

“We know for certain that children who are read to have better vocabulary. Vocabulary at kindergarten-age is a big indicator of how hard schooling will be- that means we can set our kids up for success.” -Sarah Mackenzie

“It doesn’t really matter what we’re reading. It’s the closeness; it’s listening to the rhythm of the written word- babies are just entranced by it. They begin to associate books with being held, with being loved, with having attention. Right from the very beginning they love books because it is love to them.” – Pam Leo

(Download the transcript above for more quotes and pull-outs.)

Books from this episode:

(All links are Amazon affiliate links.)

Episode 116
Good Night, Gorilla

Good Night, Gorilla

FROM SARAH

Follow the zoo’s night watchman as he tucks in all the animals for the night. But, uh-oh...did that gorilla just nab his keys?

FROM THE PUBLISHER

It's bedtime at the zoo, and all the animals are going to sleep. Or are they? Who's that short, furry guy with the key in his hand and the mischievous grin?

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Read-Aloud Handbook: Seventh Edition

The Read-Aloud Handbook: Seventh Edition

**Description from Amazon: The classic million-copy bestselling handbook on reading aloud to children—revised and updated Recommended by "Dear Abby" upon its first publication in 1982, millions of parents and educators have turned to Jim Trelease’s beloved classic for more than three decades to help countless children be...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Bridge to Terabithia

Bridge to Terabithia

**Description from Amazon: The story starts out simply enough: Jess Aarons wants to be the fastest boy in the fifth grade--he wants it so bad he can taste it. He's been practicing all summer, running in the fields around his farmhouse until he collapses in a sweat. Then a tomboy named Leslie Burke moves into the farmhouse...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Pancakes for Breakfast

Pancakes for Breakfast

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Missing ingredients and mischievous pets create one humorous complication after another for a little old lady determined to make pancakes for breakfast in this larger-sized, color-enhanced edition of Tomie dePaola's wordless picture book classic.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Connection Parenting: Parenting Through Connection Instead of Coercion, Through Love Instead of Fear, 2nd Edition

Connection Parenting: Parenting Through Connection Instead of Coercion, Through Love Instead of Fear, 2nd Edition

$15.00
Author:
Series: Episodes, 116
Tag: Episode 116

**Description from Amazon: CONNECTION PARENTING is based on the parenting series Pam Leo has taught for nearly 20 years. Pam’s premise is that every child’s greatest emotional need is to have a strong emotional bond with at least one adult. When we have a bond with a child we have influence with a child. Pam teaches us th...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star by Rosemary Wells (2006-10-01)
Baby Beluga (Raffi Songs to Read)

Baby Beluga (Raffi Songs to Read)

$6.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, 116
Tag: Episode 116

**Description from Amazon: Raffi's signature song and the top seller in his Songs to Read series, Baby Beluga is now available in a quality board book edition perfect for his youngest fans.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
By Author Down by the Bay (Raffi Songs to Read)
Peter Spier’s Rain

Peter Spier’s Rain

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Two children play in their backyard during a rainy day.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Itsy Bitsy Spider (Bunny Reads Back)

The Itsy Bitsy Spider (Bunny Reads Back)

$6.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, 116
Tag: Episode 116

**Description from Amazon: A beloved nursery rhyme classic to put your child on the road to reading!Rosemary Wells, one of America's foremost creators of children's books, will have the very youngest child turning pages and remembering the words. What better way instill a lifetime love of reading and learning?

More info →
Buy from Amazon
You Are My Sunshine

You Are My Sunshine

$6.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, 116
Tag: Episode 116

**Description from Amazon: Illustrated by the best-selling artist, Caroline Jayne Church, finally this classic song is becoming a children's board book!You are my sunshine, my only sunshine.You make me happy when skies are gray.Lovingly illustrated by Caroline Jayne Church, the bestselling artist from I LOVE YOU THROUGH AND T...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
GOOD NIGHT, THOMA

GOOD NIGHT, THOMA

$7.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, 116
Tag: Episode 116

**Description from Amazon: Fans of Thomas & Friends will have a special reading experience when they open the pages of this sturdy board with glow-in-the-dark illustrations. Train-loving boys and girls ages 2 to 5 will be intrigued to see the moon, stars, Thomas' headlight, and more brighten the night with a soft glow in thi...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Noah’s Ark

Noah’s Ark

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

In Spier's imaginative retelling, readers witness the danger and the grandeur of the terrifying flood but also the lighter moments: Noah's wife jumping on a crate to avoid the rats; Noah shooing all but two bees from a busy hive; and all the animal babies being born in the spring. It's an illustration feat that's both majestic and tender.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Chalk

Chalk

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Three children discover a magical bag of chalk on a rainy day.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Reading Magic

You’ll also enjoy:

135,000+ families trust the RAR Booklist

get yours free

Powered by ConvertKit