Today I want to introduce you to the author of some of my new favorite picture books, Camille Andros.

Camille is a writer, a traveler, a former EMT, and a mom of six. Yep, six. (So obviously, we’re kindred spirits, since I have six, too.) 😉

In this episode, you’ll hear:

  • about her writing process and how she makes time to write
  • how deceptively simple picture book writing appears, when it really isn’t so simple at all
  • a positively serendipitous story about her travels in Greece…

I also answer a listener question about… how to determine whether a book is one you want to invest in before you read it.

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

Listener Guide

Use the time stamps below to skip to any part of the podcast:

  • 00:55 Join me at a GHC this year
  • 2:34 Identifying ‘good’ books by their text
  • 5:23 Meet Camille Andros
  • 7:06 Balancing writing and motherhood
  • 10:45 A love of books is born
  • 13:50 Books Camille remembers
  • 16:05 Camille’s writing process
  • 20:20 The Dress and the Girl
  • 24:00 What impacts writing
  • 27:32 Let the Kids Speak

Links from this episode:

The Dress and the Girl was a recent Book of the Week here at Read-Aloud Revival:

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rNEasHvzjn4]

Quotes to remember:

“It’s sort of deceptive how difficult that must be to pull off a story in so few words, and to do it really, really well… which you’ve done with both of yours.” – Sarah Mackenzie

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

(Download the transcript above for more quotes and pull-outs.)

Books from this episode:

(All links are Amazon affiliate links.)

Episode 124
The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

FROM SARAH:

When their landlord decides he's not going to renew the Vanderbeekers' lease, the five Vanderbeeker kids launch a full-blown mission to change his mind. Highly recommended for kids of all ages (I read it to all six of my kids, from preschool through teen). A practically perfect family story that's first in a wonderful series. Meet the author, Karina Yan Glaser, in her Author Access replay in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Read-Aloud Family: Making Meaningful and Lasting Connections with Your Kids

The Read-Aloud Family: Making Meaningful and Lasting Connections with Your Kids

FROM SARAH:

I wrote this book as a love note, of sorts, to the Read-Aloud Revival community. You'll find practical tips, inspiring stories, and booklists for every age. The audio book won was nominated for an Audie Award!

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

USA Today Bestseller |  The stories we read--and the conversations we have about them--help shape family traditions, create lifelong memories, and become part of our legacy. Reading aloud not only has the power to change a family--it has the power to change the world. 

More info →
Buy from Libro.fm
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Charlotte the Scientist Is Squished

Charlotte the Scientist Is Squished

Author:
Series: Episodes, 124
Tag: Episode 124

**Description from Amazon: Charlotte is a serious scientist. She solves important problems by following the scientific method. She has all the right equipment: protective glasses, a lab coat, a clipboard, and a magnifying glass. What she doesn’t have is space. She has so many brothers and sisters (she is a rabbit, after all...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Dress and the Girl

The Dress and the Girl

Author:
Series: Episodes, 124
Tag: Episode 124

**Description from Amazon: A little girl and her favorite dress dream of an extraordinary life. They enjoy simple pleasures together on a beautiful Greek island. They watch the sunset, do chores, and pick wildflowers on the way home. One day, the dress and the girl must leave the island and immigrate to the United States. Upo...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Little House (Read Along Book & CD)

The Little House (Read Along Book & CD)

**Description from Amazon: The little house first stood in the country, but gradually the city moved closer and closer.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
My Grandfather’s Coat

My Grandfather’s Coat

Author:
Series: Episodes, 124
Tag: Episode 124

One of my all-time favorite read-alouds. You'll find yourself enjoying this one every bit as much as your kids! What will grandfather do when his coat becomes all worn out? Well, you'll have to read it to see! Highly recommended for all ages.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Bumper Book 1961 Edition

Bumper Book 1961 Edition

Author:
Series: Episodes, 124
Tag: Episode 124

**Description from Amazon: 64 pages, classic children's stories such as Wynken, Blynken and Nod and Animal Crackers, illustrated in color by Eulalie

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Angelina Ballerina

Angelina Ballerina

**Description from Amazon: Angelina Ballerina is the picture book that first introduced Angelina to her adoring fans. This tiny dancer has proved to have enormous staying power—she has been a hugely popular character for more than twenty years. And Angelina’s popularity only continues to grow. She is even the spokescharac...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Great Brain (Great Brain, Book 1)

The Great Brain (Great Brain, Book 1)

**Description from Amazon: This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old.  Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit....

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Charlotte the Scientist Finds a Cure

Charlotte the Scientist Finds a Cure

$17.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, 124
Tag: Episode 124

In this empowering picture book with a STEM focus, Charlotte, a budding bunny scientist, ignores the doubters and confidently finds a cure to the mysterious malady affecting the forest. The animals of the forest are all getting sick and no one can figure out why. Determined to get to the bottom of t...

More info →
Buy from Amazon

You’ll also enjoy:

A Year of Picture Books

Get a FREE list of recommendations for every month and every season!

Powered by ConvertKit