Jonathan Auxier has been a writer for a very long time, but he says he never really felt like he had found his place until he began writing children’s literature.

Thank goodness he did!

jonthan_auxier_headshot_-_twitter4_400x400

The New York Times best-selling author of what he calls “strange stories for strange children,” his books include Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, The Night Gardener and most recently, Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard.

In this episode he joins Sarah (and 13-year-old Allison!) to talk about writing for children, and why he’s so driven to connect kids with stories.

In this episode, you’ll hear

  • his mother’s decision to homeschool him for a year so he could read for three hours a day
  • why he always recommends other authors’ books too to the kids he meets
  • scary books and sensitive kids
  • Allison’s favorite books series (Jonathan hadn’t heard of it before!)

 Click the play button below:

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

Books from this episode:

(All links are Amazon affiliate links.)

Episode 56
Matilda

Matilda

*Description from Amazon: “The Trunchbull” is no match for Matilda!Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a kid-hating terror of a headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she su...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

FROM SARAH:

For fans of Lord of the RingsThe Princess Bride, and The Chronicles of Narnia. This fantastical journey is one our family's favorites. Excellent as an audio book, as well (and it's kind of long, so if that intimidates you, opt for audio!) Don't miss my interview with Andrew Peterson for Author Access in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Janner Igiby, his brother, Tink, and their disabled sister, Leeli, are gifted children as all children are, loved well by a noble mother and ex-pirate grandfather. But they will need all their gifts and all that they love to survive the evil pursuit of the venomous Fangs of Dang, who have crossed the dark sea to rule the land with malice.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes

Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes

$9.95

FROM SARAH:

Jonathan Auxier's fantastical tale of Peter, the blind orphan who lives a life of thievery. Around the time Peter finds himself in possession of three pairs of magical eyes, he realizes he is being sent on a quest to the dangerous Vanished Kingdom. Don't miss the author's interview on the RAR podcast.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Gardener, Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes is the utterly beguiling tale of a ten-year-old blind orphan who has been schooled in a life of thievery. One fateful afternoon, he steals a box from a mysterious traveling haberdasher--a box that contains three pairs of magical eyes.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Night Gardener

The Night Gardener

$8.95

*Description from Amazon: This much-anticipated follow-up to Jonathan Auxier’s exceptional debut, Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, is a Victorian ghost story with shades of Washington Irving and Henry James. More than just a spooky tale, it’s also a moral fable about human greed and the power of storytelling.The Nigh...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Book of Three (The Chronicles of Prydain Book 1)

The Book of Three (The Chronicles of Prydain Book 1)

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Originally published in 1964, this three-book series follows “Taran the Assistant Pig-Keeper” on his quest to become a hero. Filled with references to Welsh mythology and lots of humor.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Nancy Drew Mystery Stories 1-64 (Nancy Drew)

Nancy Drew Mystery Stories 1-64 (Nancy Drew)

**Description from Amazon: Another book in the Nancy Drew series featuring a teen-age girl as a mystery solver.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Wonder

Wonder

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Cam Jansen: The Mystery of the Stolen Diamonds #1

Cam Jansen: The Mystery of the Stolen Diamonds #1

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Can Cam help catch the diamond thief? Cam and her friend Eric are sitting at the mall when the jewelry store is robbed. Cam sees the thief, but the police arrest the wrong person. Now it's up to Cam to catch the real criminal!

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon Kindle
The Tower Treasure (The Hardy Boys No. 1)

The Tower Treasure (The Hardy Boys No. 1)

**Description from Amazon: A dying criminal confesses that his loot has been stored "in the tower." Both towers of the looted mansion are searched in vain. It remains for the Hardy boys to make an astonishing discovery that clears up the mystery and clears the name of a friend’s father.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard: A Peter Nimble Adventure

Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard: A Peter Nimble Adventure

**Description from Amazon: Read this captivating adventure by Jonathan Auxier, New York Times bestselling author of The Night Gardener. It’s been two years since Peter Nimble and Sir Tode rescued the kingdom of HazelPort. In that time, they have traveled far and wide in search of adventure. Now they have been summoned by P...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales

The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales

$17.99

**Description from Amazon: The entire book, with its unconventional page arrangement and eclectic, frenetic mix of text and pictures, is a spoof on the art of book design and the art of the fairy tale. The individual tales, such as The Really Ugly Duckling and Little Red Running Shorts, can be extracted for telling aloud, wit...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Treasure Island

Treasure Island

**Description from Amazon: Treasure Island is an adventure novel by Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson, narrating a tale of "buccaneers and buried gold". First published as a book on 23 May 1883, it was originally serialized in the children's magazine Young Folks between 1881 and 1882 under the title Treasure Island or, t...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)

Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)

$7.95
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 56, Book 1
Tag: Episode 56

**Description from Amazon: In this funny, uncannily wise portrait of the dynamics of a sixth-grade class and of the greatness that sometimes comes in unlikely packages, Dwight, a loser, talks to his classmates via an origami finger puppet of Yoda. If that weren t strange enough, the puppet is uncannily wise and prescient. Ori...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1)

**Description from Amazon: Boys don't keep diaries—or do they?The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to.It's a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
One Dead Spy (Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales #1)

One Dead Spy (Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales #1)

Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 56, Book 1
Tags: Episode 56, graphic-novels

The American Revolution comes to life through this graphic novel by Nathan Hale. Funny, informative, and eye-opening. Your kids need to be able to see the panels while you read this series aloud, so pull them close. (The whole series covers a wide range of historical events, so go see if whatever you're currently learning about is in the series! You can read the series in any order, but it's best to start here before moving on to any others.)

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Jumbies

The Jumbies

$6.95

**Description from Amazon: Corinne La Mer claims she isn’t afraid of anything. Not scorpions, not the boys who tease her, and certainly not jumbies. They’re just tricksters made up by parents to frighten their children. Then one night Corinne chases an agouti all the way into the forbidden forest, and shining yellow eyes ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Coraline

Coraline

Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 56
Tag: Episode 56

**Description from Amazon: The day after they moved in, Coraline went exploring.... In Coraline's family's new flat are twenty-one windows and fourteen doors. Thirteen of the doors open and close.The fourteenth is locked, and on the other side is only a brick wall, until the day Coraline unlocks the door to find a passage to ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Fifth Business (Deptford Trilogy)

Fifth Business (Deptford Trilogy)

$16.00

**Description from Amazon: Ramsay is a man twice born, a man who has returned from the hell of the battle-grave at Passchendaele in World War I decorated with the Victoria Cross and destined to be caught in a no man's land where memory, history, and myth collide. As Ramsay tells his story, it begins to seem that from boyhood,...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
 
1200

Links from today’s show:

135,000+ families trust the RAR Booklist

get yours free

Powered by ConvertKit

SaveSave