We want to model a love of reading for our kids, but honestly- who’s got the time? Anne Bogel does. Otherwise known as Modern Mrs. Darcy, she’s the best person I know to talk about how to fit more reading into your life.

In this episode, you’ll hear:

  • where to find good books
  • how to fit reading in to the nooks and crannies
  • ‘what you should read next!’

P.S. Our 31-Day Winter Read-Aloud Challenge starts January 1! Join thousands of others and turn your kids into read-alouders. It’s free, it’s fabulous, and you can get everything you need right here.

Click the play button below:

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

Books from this episode:

(All links are Amazon affiliate links.)

Episode 37
The Mouse and the Motorcycle

The Mouse and the Motorcycle

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

It’s a dream come true for Ralph S. Mouse when he get his own set of wheels: a red motorcycle. But when Ralph drives straight into trouble, it’s his human friend Keith who helps him. A Beverly Cleary classic, and the first in a 3-part series!

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Chronicles of Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Good, evil; battles, betrayals; this classic series begins with either The Magician’s Nephew, or The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (depending on who you ask!). There are 7 books in all -- one filled with more adventure and fantasy than the next.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Redwall (Redwall, Book 1)

Redwall (Redwall, Book 1)

FROM SARAH:

Redwall Abbey is a quiet and peaceful place, just as the mice like it. But an evil one-eyed rat wants ownership of the abbey. An unlikely hero emerges in this action packed tale, which might be a good pick for fans of The Green Ember.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

The question in this first volume is resoundingly clear: What can the peace-loving mice of Redwall Abbey do to defend themselves against Cluny the Scourge and his battle-seasoned army of rats?

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

FROM SARAH:

For fans of Lord of the RingsThe Princess Bride, and The Chronicles of Narnia. This fantastical journey is one our family's favorites. Excellent as an audio book, as well (and it's kind of long, so if that intimidates you, opt for audio!) Don't miss my interview with Andrew Peterson for Author Access in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Janner Igiby, his brother, Tink, and their disabled sister, Leeli, are gifted children as all children are, loved well by a noble mother and ex-pirate grandfather. But they will need all their gifts and all that they love to survive the evil pursuit of the venomous Fangs of Dang, who have crossed the dark sea to rule the land with malice.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Wind in the Willows

The Wind in the Willows

$7.99

A classic story of friendship starring Toad, Rat, Mole and Badger, this river tale is a wonderful read-aloud full of big personalities. (Except for Mole, who is a little shy.) Look for the version illustrated by Ernest H. Shepard of Winnie the Pooh fame!

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Mary Poppins: 80th Anniversary Collection

Mary Poppins: 80th Anniversary Collection

$24.99

Fans of the Disney film may be surprised by this books series, which begins with Mary Poppins. The plot is similar, but nanny Mary is a little less “spoonful-of-sugar” in this classic that’s been a favorite for more than 80 years.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Hobbit

The Hobbit

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

The prelude to the Lord of the Rings, Bilbo sets out on a great adventure. Lots of suspense and humor … There’s a beautifully illustrated version available that can make this book a little easier to share with families with a large age gap.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Emily of New Moon (The Emily Books, Book 1)

Emily of New Moon (The Emily Books, Book 1)

When Emily’s father dies, her mother’s relatives take her to live at New Moon Farm, where she deals with snobby relatives and cruel classmates. Will Emily ever feel at home again?

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

Not as scary as the movie, this is a fabulous read-aloud for a wide range of ages. This audio book version is also delightful.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Half Magic

Half Magic

FROM SARAH

It’s such a boring summer, so when Jane finds a coin, she wishes something exciting would happen. Of course, it does! A funny and classic family tale for all ages.

FROM THE PUBLISHER

It all begins with a strange coin on a sun-warmed sidewalk. Jane finds the coin, and because she and her siblings are having the worst, most dreadfully boring summer ever, she idly wishes something exciting would happen. And something does: Her wish is granted. Or not quite. Only half of her wish comes true.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Book 1)

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Book 1)

$50.00

Jim Dale brings the wizard world to life in this magical series about “the boy who lived.”

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Peter Pan

Peter Pan

$45.00

Audible version, read by Jim Dale

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Disney Fairies: Meet Tinker Bell (Passport to Reading Level 1)

Disney Fairies: Meet Tinker Bell (Passport to Reading Level 1)

$3.99

**Description from Amazon: The fairies of Pixie Hollow celebrate the birth of a new fairy--Tinker Bell! Tink quickly discovers her talent for tinkering--but that's no fun. She'd rather do something else! Read all about Tinker Bell's first lesson on being a fairy in this illustrated leveled reader storybook.Passport to Reading...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Little House on the Prairie: Little House, Book 3

Little House on the Prairie: Little House, Book 3

The adventures continue for Laura Ingalls and her family as they leave their little house in the Big Woods of Wisconsin and set out for Kansas. They travel for many days in their covered wagon until they find the best spot to build their little house on the prairie. Soon they are planting and plowin...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Series of Unfortunate Events #1: The Bad Beginning Rare Edition Enhanced

Series of Unfortunate Events #1: The Bad Beginning Rare Edition Enhanced

Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 1, Book 1
Tags: Episode 01, Episode 37

**Description from Amazon: Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing?It is likely that yo...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency

$17.49

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency:Mma “Precious” Ramotswe sets up a detective agency in Botswana on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, making her the only female detective in the country. At first, cases are hard to come by. But eventually, troubled people come to Precious with a variety of conce...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Book 1

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Book 1

$29.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 112, Book 1
Tags: Episode 112, Episode 37

"Turning the envelope over, his hand trembling, Harry saw a purple wax seal bearing a coat of arms; a lion, an eagle, a badger and a snake surrounding a large letter 'H'."
Harry Potter has never even heard of Hogwarts when the letters start dropping on the doormat at number four, Privet Drive. Add...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Septimus Heap, Book One: Magyk

Septimus Heap, Book One: Magyk

Author:
Series: Episodes, 118, Book 1
Tags: Episode 118, Episode 37

**Description from Amazon: The first book in the internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, featuring the funny and fantastic adventures of a wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.New York Times Bestselling Series“A deliciously spellbinding series opener.” —Kirkus Reviews...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Double Love (Sweet Valley High #1)

Double Love (Sweet Valley High #1)

Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 37, Book 1
Tag: Episode 37

**Description from Amazon: Who will Todd choose—the glamorous Jessica or the gentle Elizabeth?Elizabeth and Jessica Wakefield are identical twins—beautiful, blonde, perfect—but they couldn't be more different from each other. Elizabeth is friendly, good-natured, and kind, and the complete opposite of her clever, connivi...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary

The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary

$16.99

**Description from Amazon: The Professor and the Madman, masterfully researched and eloquently written, is an extraordinary tale of madness, genius, and the incredible obsessions of two remarkable men that led to the making of the Oxford English Dictionary -- and literary history. The compilation of the OED began in 1857, it ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Undaunted Courage:  Meriwether Lewis, Thomas Jefferson, and the Opening of the American West

Undaunted Courage: Meriwether Lewis, Thomas Jefferson, and the Opening of the American West

$19.00

**Description from Amazon: From the New York Times bestselling author of Band of Brothers and D-Day, the definitive book on Lewis and Clark’s exploration of the Louisiana Purchase, the most momentous expedition in American history and one of the great adventure stories of all time.In 1803 President Thomas Jefferson selected...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Mrs. Dalloway

Mrs. Dalloway

$14.99

**Description from Amazon: Direct and vivid in her account of Clarissa Dalloway’s preparations for a party, Virginia Woolf explores the hidden springs of thought and action in one day of a woman’s life.  In Mrs. Dalloway, the novel on which the movie The Hours was based, Virginia Woolf details Clarissa Dallow...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Charles Dickens: The Complete Novels + A Biography of the Author (The Greatest Writers of All Time)

Charles Dickens: The Complete Novels + A Biography of the Author (The Greatest Writers of All Time)

**Description from Amazon: This book contains several HTML tables of contents.The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
The Borrowers

The Borrowers

Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 37
Tag: Episode 37

**Description from Amazon: The Borrowers—the Clock family: Homily, Pod, and their fourteen-year-old daughter, Arrietty, to be precise—are tiny people who live underneath the kitchen floor of an old English country manor. All their minuscule home furnishings, from postage stamp paintings to champagne cork chairs, are “bo...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle

Links from this episode:

Follow Anne!

Anne’s site: Modern Mrs. Darcy

Anne on Facebook, TwitterInstagram, and Pinterest

SaveSaveSaveSave

135,000+ families trust the RAR Booklist

get yours free

Powered by ConvertKit