I ‘m really excited about today’s podcast! I got to chat with Tsh Oxenreider from The Art of Simple.

Reading plays a major role in Tsh’s family life, and she has a down-to- earth perspective on life and books to share with us.

In this episode, you’ll hear:

  • the ebb and flow of family life and its impact on reading aloud
  • how her family makes reading aloud a priority even while traveling around the world
  • how books are basically comfort food. :)

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

Links from this episode:

Books from this episode:

(All links are Amazon affiliate links.)

Episode 03
A Bear Called Paddington

A Bear Called Paddington

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

When Paddington Bear moves in with the Browns, life changes forever. This classic series of tales about a well-intentioned bear who finds himself in many unfortunate predicaments delights young readers. Especially wonderful if you can read it with a British accent. ;)

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

FROM SARAH:

For fans of Lord of the RingsThe Princess Bride, and The Chronicles of Narnia. This fantastical journey is one our family's favorites. Excellent as an audio book, as well (and it's kind of long, so if that intimidates you, opt for audio!) Don't miss my interview with Andrew Peterson for Author Access in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Janner Igiby, his brother, Tink, and their disabled sister, Leeli, are gifted children as all children are, loved well by a noble mother and ex-pirate grandfather. But they will need all their gifts and all that they love to survive the evil pursuit of the venomous Fangs of Dang, who have crossed the dark sea to rule the land with malice.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Honey for a Child’s Heart

Honey for a Child’s Heart

*Description from Amazon: Family favorite now revised and updated, including an annotated list of books for ages 0-12 Everything parents need to know to find the best books for their children Since its publication in 1969, this has been an essential guide for parents wanting to find the best books for their children. Now i...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Pooh’s Library: Winnie-The-Pooh, The House At Pooh Corner, When We Were Very Young, Now We Are Six (Pooh Original Edition)

Pooh’s Library: Winnie-The-Pooh, The House At Pooh Corner, When We Were Very Young, Now We Are Six (Pooh Original Edition)

$52.00

**Description from Amazon: Here are the two great storybooks chronicling the adventures of Christopher Robin and all the inhabitants of the Hundred Acre Wood, as well as the two charming volumes of poems. Bright in color and true in spirit, these are books for giving—To Pooh fans of all ages.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Little House in the Big Woods: Little House, Book 1

Little House in the Big Woods: Little House, Book 1

$3.95

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! NARRATED BY: Cherry Jones, BEST FOR AGES: 5+

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Child’s Story Bible

The Child’s Story Bible

**Description from Amazon: Originally published in 1935, this beloved Bible storybook is still a favorite with todays children, parents, and teachers (including Ruth Bell Graham). More than 200 stories from the Old and New Testaments are retold in simple language appropriate for 4

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
The story of the world: Ancient times, from the earliest Nomads to the last Roman emperor history for the classical child, Vol. 1

The story of the world: Ancient times, from the earliest Nomads to the last Roman emperor history for the classical child, Vol. 1

$39.95
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 3, Book 1
Tag: Episode 03

**Description from Amazon: History will never be the same again! This spirited reading of the first in Susan Wise Bauer's Story of the World history series brings to life the stories and records of the peoples of ancient times. Now more than ever, other countries and customs affect our everyday lives-and our children need to ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
City Dog, Country Frog

City Dog, Country Frog

$17.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 3
Tag: Episode 03

**Description from Amazon: In spring, when City Dog runs free in the country for the first time, he spots Country Frog sitting on a rock, waiting for a friend. "You'll do," Frog says, and together they play Country Frog games. In summer, they meet again and play City Dog games. Through the seasons, whenever City Dog visits th...

More info →
Buy from Amazon