Each year at RAR, we hold a 31-Day Read-Aloud Challenge… it’s not a challenge for you- it’s for your kids!

Kids are encouraged to read out loud (to their pets, their stuffed animals, their siblings, their grandma…) every day for at least 15 minutes during the month of January.

What happens is inevitable:

  • Kids who were feeling kind of meh about reading suddenly find themselves having a hard time putting their books down
  • Rich connections are made between the child doing the reading and those who are listening
  • Struggling readers start to find their feet, beginning to read with more skill and ease.

It’s just an all-around win.

The challenge takes place every January. You can sign up to be notified about our next one in the box below– it’s FREE:

January 2020

Enter your email below, and we'll make sure you get an invitation to the next
31-Day Read-Aloud Challenge:

Powered by ConvertKit

This year, we asked the kids which books they enjoyed most during the challenge.

After all, kids read a lot during the challenge! And who better to suggest great read-alouds than the kids who love them so much?

There were a lot of entries, but these 24 showed up time and time again. We’re pretty confident that your kids would enjoy just about anything from this list!

(Scroll beneath the images to see my age recommendations for each title. All links are Amazon affiliate links.)

31-day-favorites
Charlotte’s Web

Charlotte’s Web

FROM SARAH

By the wonderful E.B. White, a touching tale of friendship, character and love, with charming illustrations by Garth Williams. Your kids will hang on every word—there's a reason this book is a classic! (psst... get out the Kleenex)

FROM THE PUBLISHER

E. B. White's Newbery Honor Book is a tender novel of friendship, love, life, and death that will continue to be enjoyed by generations to come. It contains illustrations by Garth Williams, the acclaimed illustrator of E. B. White's Stuart Little and Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House series, among many other books.

 

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?

Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?

$7.95

FROM SARAH

A timeless classic told in sing-style rhyme, illustrated with Eric Carle’s famous flat collage artwork. My toddlers love chanting along while we read.

FROM THE PUBLISHER

A big happy frog, a plump purple cat, a handsome blue horse, and a soft yellow duck--all parade across the pages of this delightful book. Children will immediately respond to Eric Carle's flat, boldly colored collages. Combined with Bill Martin's singsong text, they create unforgettable images of these endearing animals.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Chronicles of Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Good, evil; battles, betrayals; this classic series begins with either The Magician’s Nephew, or The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (depending on who you ask!). There are 7 books in all -- one filled with more adventure and fantasy than the next.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Green Ember

The Green Ember

FROM SARAH:

A Read-Aloud Revival community favorite. Rabbits with Swords! This story will inspire heroic virtue in your children (and who knows... maybe you too!). This is first in a truly wonderful fantasy series. Your kids can meet author S.D. Smith at his Author Access video replay in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Heather and Picket are extraordinary rabbits with ordinary lives until calamitous events overtake them, spilling them into a cauldron of misadventures. They discover that their own story is bound up in the tumult threatening to overwhelm the wider world.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

FROM SARAH:

For fans of Lord of the RingsThe Princess Bride, and The Chronicles of Narnia. This fantastical journey is one our family's favorites. Excellent as an audio book, as well (and it's kind of long, so if that intimidates you, opt for audio!) Don't miss my interview with Andrew Peterson for Author Access in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Janner Igiby, his brother, Tink, and their disabled sister, Leeli, are gifted children as all children are, loved well by a noble mother and ex-pirate grandfather. But they will need all their gifts and all that they love to survive the evil pursuit of the venomous Fangs of Dang, who have crossed the dark sea to rule the land with malice.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
We’re Going on a Bear Hunt

We’re Going on a Bear Hunt

$7.99

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Beloved for more than 30 years, this award-winning classic from Michael Rosen and Helen Oxenbury celebrates the joys of an afternoon outdoors with family.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Winnie-the-Pooh

Winnie-the-Pooh

$12.99

Littles love these sweet stories, but older kids will get more of A.A. Milne’s humor. Pooh, Piglet, Eyeore and the whole gang are sweet and always overcoming a new challenge.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Mercy Watson to the Rescue

Mercy Watson to the Rescue

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Mercy is a porcine wonder and very loved by the Watson family. A great way to introduce kids to the fabulous Kate DiCamillo.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective

Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Leroy Brown, boy detective, not only solves his own cases -- he also occasionally helps out his policeman dad with the biggest mysteries in Idaville.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Essential Calvin and Hobbes: a Calvin and Hobbes Treasury

The Essential Calvin and Hobbes: a Calvin and Hobbes Treasury

$18.99

Calvin has a best friend -- a stuffed? tiger named Hobbes, and a BIG imagination. Follow the pair’s adventures in these beloved comics.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Billy And Blaze

Billy And Blaze

$7.99

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Billy loves horses more than anything else in the world, and what he wants most is his own pony. Full of beautiful illustrations and sweet relationships.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Little House in the Big Woods

Little House in the Big Woods

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

The first in Laura’s story about her family of American pioneers. Join the Ingalls family as they celebrate Christmas and the harvest and their first trip to town.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Fablehaven

Fablehaven

FROM SARAH:

Kendra and Seth visit their grandparents, having no idea that their grandfather is the caretaker of Fablehaven, a hidden refuge for mystical creatures to prevent their extinction. Will keep you turning pages! Watch the author talk about writing this book in his Author Access replay in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

For centuries, mystical creatures of all description were gathered to a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction. The sanctuary survives today as one of the last strongholds of true magic in a cynical world. Enchanting? Absolutely. Exciting? You bet. Safe? Well, actually, quite the opposite...

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

$7.99

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

When Charlie finds a golden ticket in a Wonka bar, it means he and Grandpa Joe get to tour the famous chocolate factory. They encounter the eccentric Mr. Wonka, Oompa-Loompas, and some very naughty children!

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Adventures in Brambly Hedge

Adventures in Brambly Hedge

$29.99

**Description from Amazon: Step into the miniature world of Brambly Hedge in this exquisite slipcase containing four classic picture books!The mice of Brambly Hedge have many adventures but they always have time for fun too. All through the year, they mark the seasons with feasts and festivities and, of course, the mice never...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Boynton’s Greatest Hits : Moo, Baa, La La La!, A to Z, Doggies, Blue Hat, Green Hat

Boynton’s Greatest Hits : Moo, Baa, La La La!, A to Z, Doggies, Blue Hat, Green Hat

The ultimate set for Boynton fans, here are four of her seriously silly bestselling board books in their own sturdy boxed set. Full-color illustrations.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Railway Children (Puffin Classics)

The Railway Children (Puffin Classics)

**Description from Amazon: When Father is taken away unexpectedly, Roberta, Peter, Phyllis and their mother have to leave their comfortable life in London to go and live in a small cottage in the country. The children seek solace in the nearby railway station, and make friends with Perks the Porter and the Station Master hims...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Frog and Toad Are Friends (Frog and Toad I Can Read Stories Book 1)

Frog and Toad Are Friends (Frog and Toad I Can Read Stories Book 1)

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

From writing letters to going swimming, telling stories to finding lost buttons, Frog and Toad are always there for each other—just as best friends should be.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Berenstain Bears: Kindness Counts (Berenstain Bears/Living Lights)

The Berenstain Bears: Kindness Counts (Berenstain Bears/Living Lights)

**Description from Amazon: Brother Bear loves everything to do with model airplanes, whether it’s building, fixing, or flying them. But when he shares one of his prized planes with a younger cub will his kindness be returned?

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Go, Dog. Go! (Big Bright & Early Board Book)

Go, Dog. Go! (Big Bright & Early Board Book)

$6.99

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

A beloved Bright and Early Board Book by P. D. Eastman, now in a larger size!   A sturdy board book edition of P. D. Eastman's Go, Dog. Go!, now available in a bigger size perfect for babies and toddlers!

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Boxcar Children (The Boxcar Children, No. 1) (The Boxcar Children Mysteries)

The Boxcar Children (The Boxcar Children, No. 1) (The Boxcar Children Mysteries)

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

The Aldens begin their adventure by making a home in a boxcar. Their goal is to stay together, and in the process they find a grandfather.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Green Eggs and Ham (Beginner Books(R))

Green Eggs and Ham (Beginner Books(R))

**Description from Amazon: “Do you like green eggs and ham?” asks Sam-I-am in this Beginner Book by Dr. Seuss. In a house or with a mouse? In a boat or with a goat? On a train or in a tree? Sam keeps asking persistently. With unmistakable characters and signature rhymes, Dr. Seuss’s beloved favorite has cemented its pla...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
We Are in a Book! (An Elephant and Piggie Book)

We Are in a Book! (An Elephant and Piggie Book)

**Description from Amazon: Gerald is careful. Piggie is not. Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can.Gerald and Piggie are best friends.In We Are in a Book! Gerald and Piggie discover the joy of being read. But what will happen when the book ends?Using vocabulary perfect for beginning readers (and vetted by an early-learning s...

More info →
Buy from Amazon


Need age recommendations for these books?

I’ve actually read every book mentioned here, so I’ll give you a few ideas. Bear in mind, however, that you can read any of these books with the whole family. These are just suggestions if you’re looking for age-specific ideas.

All Ages

Ages 3+

Ages 7+

Ages 11+


For our best recommendations, get the whole Read-Aloud Revival booklist:

135,000+ families trust the RAR Booklist

get yours free

Powered by ConvertKit