Episode 119

Marisa De Los Santos119Episode 119

I’ll Be Your Blue Sky: A Novel

The New York Times bestselling author revisits the characters from her beloved novels Love Walked In and Belong to Me in this captivating, beautifully written drama involving family, friendship, secrets, sacrifice, courage, and true love for fans of Jojo Moyes, Elin Hilderbrand, and Nancy Thayer.On ...

Dani Shapiro119Episode 119

Hourglass: Time, Memory, Marriage

**Description from Amazon: Elle Best Books of 2017Kirkus Best Books of 2017The best-selling novelist and memoirist delivers her most intimate and powerful work: a piercing, life-affirming memoir about marriage and memory, about the frailty and elasticity of our most essential bonds, and about the accretion, over time, of both...

Dani Shapiro119Episode 119

Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love

**Description from Amazon: The acclaimed and beloved author of Hourglass now gives us a new memoir about identity, paternity, and family secrets--a real-time exploration of the staggering discovery she recently made about her father, and her struggle to piece together the hidden story of her own life.What makes us who we are?...

G. K. Chesterton119Episode 119

Tremendous Trifles

**Description from Amazon: A collection of essays, including: I. Tremendous Trifles II. A Piece of Chalk III. The Secret of a Train IV. The Perfect Game V. The Extraordinary Cabman VI. An Accident VII. The Advantages of Having One Leg VIII. The End of the World IX. In the Place de La Bastille X. On Lying in Bed XI. The Twelve...

Jane Austen119132 AdultEpisode 154Episode 119Episode 132Episode 132 Adult

Emma

**Description from Amazon: First published at the end of 1815, Jane Austen’s “Emma” is the story of Emma Woodhouse, a young girl from a good home that does not need the financial support of a husband and is determined not to marry. Emma however is not opposed to the idea of marriage for others and is determined to play ...

Louise Penny119Episode 119

Still Life

**Description from Amazon: Winner of the New Blood Dagger, Arthur Ellis, Barry, Anthony, and Dilys awards.Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Surêté du Québec and his team of investigators are called in to the scene of a suspicious death in a rural village south of Montreal. Jane Neal, a local fixture in the tiny hamlet ...

Anne Morrow Lindbergh119Episode 119

Gift from the Sea: 50th-Anniversary Edition

**Description from Amazon: A great gift at any time of year. In this inimitable classic, Anne Morrow Lindbergh shares her meditations on youth and age, love and marriage, peace, solitude, and contentment during a brief vacation by the sea. Drawing inspiration from the the shells on the shore, Lindbergh's musings on the shape ...

Wendell Berry119Episode 119

Hannah Coulter

**Description from Amazon: Hannah Coulter is Wendell Berry’s seventh novel and his first to employ the voice of a woman character in its telling. Hannah, the now-elderly narrator, recounts the love she has for the land and for her community. She remembers each of her two husbands, and all places and community connections th...

Marilynne Robinson119Episode 119

Gilead: A Novel

**Description from Amazon: The 2004 Pulitzer Prize winning novelA New York Times Top-Ten Book of 2004Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for FictionA PBS Great American Read selectionNearly 25 years after Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations, from the Civil War to th...

Marisa De Los Santos119Episode 119

Belong to Me: A Novel

**Description from Amazon: “Marisa de los Santos’s Belong to Me is my favorite discovery of the past years: a terrific page-turner that’s also poignant, funny, surprising and deeply heartfelt.”—Harlan Coben “Complex, engaging, and surprisingly moving.”—Boston GlobeThe sensational New York Times bestseller fro...

Marisa De Los Santos119Episode 119

Love Walked In

**Description from Amazon: From the New York Times bestselling author of I’ll Be Your Blue Sky comes a “bewitching, warmhearted grown-up fairy tale about old movies, charming princes, and finding happily ever after in the place where you’d least expect it” (Jennifer Weiner).When Martin Grace enters the hip Philadelphi...

Ariel Lawhon119Episode 119

The Wife, the Maid, and the Mistress

**Description from Amazon: One summer night in 1930, Judge Joseph Crater steps into a New York City cab and is never heard from again. Behind this great man are three women, each with her own tale to tell: Stella, his fashionable wife, the picture of propriety; Maria, their steadfast maid, indebted to the judge; and Ritzi, hi...

Kate Morton119Episode 119

The Lake House: A Novel

**Description from Amazon: From the New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Keeper comes a “moody, suspenseful page-turner” (People, Best Book Pick) filled with mystery and spellbinding secrets.Living on her family’s idyllic lakeside estate in Cornwall, England, Alice Edevane is a bright, inquisitive, and precoc...

Wallace Earle Stegner119Episode 119

Crossing to Safety (Modern Library Classics)

**Description from Amazon: Introduction by Terry Tempest Williams Afterword by T. H. Watkins   Called a “magnificently crafted story . . . brimming with wisdom” by Howard Frank Mosher in The Washington Post Book World, Crossing to Safety has, since its publication in 1987, established itself as one of the greatest ...

Laura Vanderkam119Episode 119

Off the Clock: Feel Less Busy While Getting More Done

**Description from Amazon: "I well recall a conversation with an executive I hoped to interview about her astonishing productivity. I began our call with an assurance that I would not take much of her time. She laughed. 'Oh, I have all the time in the world,' she said."Most of us feel constantly behind, unsure how to escape f...

Wendell Berry119121Episode 106Episode 106Episode 119Episode 121

Jayber Crow

**Description from Amazon:  “This is a book about Heaven,” says Jayber Crow, “but I must say too that . . . I have wondered sometimes if it would not finally turn out to be a book about Hell.” It is 1932 and he has returned to his native Port William to become the town's barber. Orphaned at age ten, Jayber Crow’s acq...

Jennifer A. Nielsen119Books Boys Love: TeensBooks Girls Love: TeensEpisode 132 YA recommendationsEpisode 119Episode 132 YAEpisode 92 teensgirls books teens

The False Prince (Ascendance Trilogy Book 1)

**Description from Amazon: In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king's long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy nam...

G. K. Chesterton119Episode 21Episode 63Episode 119Episode 63

Orthodoxy

**Description from Amazon: “Because children have abounding vitality, because they are in spirit fierce and free, therefore they want things repeated and unchanged. They always say, "Do it again"; and the grown-up person does it again until he is nearly dead. For grown-up people are not strong enough to exult in monotony. B...

Alan Jacobs093115119125Episode 141Episode 145Episode 150Episode 163Episode 165Episode 54Episode 115Episode 119Episode 125Episode 54Episode 93

The Pleasures of Reading in an Age of Distraction

**Description from Amazon: In recent years, cultural commentators have sounded the alarm about the dire state of reading in America. Americans are not reading enough, they say, or reading the right books, in the right way.In this book, Alan Jacobs argues that, contrary to the doomsayers, reading is alive and well in America. ...

Jane Austen119125127132 AdultBooks Girls Love: TeensEpisode 27Episode 34Episode 47Episode 97Episode 119Episode 125Episode 127Episode 132Episode 132 AdultEpisode 47Episode 97girls books teens

Pride and Prejudice

**Description from Amazon: Pride and Prejudice is a novel of manners by Jane Austen, first published in 1813. The story follows the main character, Elizabeth Bennet, as she deals with issues of manners, upbringing, morality, education, and marriage in the society of the landed gentry of the British Regency. Elizabeth is the s...

Daniel T. Willingham093119Episode 154Episode 43Episode 51Episode 70Episode 82Episode 119Episode 43Episode 51Episode 70Episode 82Episode 93

Raising Kids Who Read: What Parents and Teachers Can Do

**Description from Amazon: How parents and educators can teach kids to love reading in the digital age Everyone agrees that reading is important, but kids today tend to lose interest in reading before adolescence. In Raising Kids Who Read, bestselling author and psychology professor Daniel T. Willingham explains this phenomen...